Public Universities and Constituent Colleges in Kenya

Public University main icon
Iconic features of University of Nairobi

Kenya’s university education comprises public and private universities. Public universities are owned by the state while private universities are owned by private citizens. The number of public universities has increased from one university (July 1, 1970) to 34 public universities. The oldest and main universities were seven in total. The seven public universities nurtured their constituent colleges to become fully-fledged universities. Below are the traditional public university followed by a table of relatively young universities.

Also read: Private Universities and constituent Colleges in Kenya

The University of Nairobi (UoN)

It is the oldest public university in Kenya. Over the years The University of Nairobi has nurtured the best professionals in Kenya and beyond. Its programs have the best employability index in Kenya. Among some of its prestigious and famous programs are; law, medicine, veterinary medicine, and biological sciences among others. Its main campus is located in Nairobi along the University way

Its other campuses are; Chiromo, Kikuyu, Lower Kabete, Parklands, Kenya Science, Upper Kabete, Kenyatta National Hospital.

The University of Nairobi’s contacts are:

University of Nairobi

P.O.Box 30197, GPO, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: (+254-20) 491 0000
Facebook: University of Nairobi
Twitter:  @uonbi
Instagram: @universityofnairobi

Moi University (MU)

Moi university ranks as the second oldest public university in Kenya and has its main campus at Kesses, Eldoret. It produces the best medical professionals in Kenya.

Moi University campuses include Nairobi, Coast, Annex, College of health sciences, Alupe University college, and Bomet University College.

You can reach out Moi University’s main campus via:

P. O. Box 3900 – 30100,

Kesses, Eldoret, Kenya
+254 790 940 508

+254 736 138 770

Kenyatta University (KU)

Kenyatta University is located 16 km away from Nairobi city. It can be accessed via the Thika superhighway. It is traditionally popular in education courses. However, its academic scope is not limited to education. It offers different courses in various fields. Among the traditional universities, KU prides itself as a person with disabilities (pwd) friendly, modern infrastructure, campanile, sporting fields among others.

Among its branches are; Kitui, Embu, Nakuru, Mombasa, Nairobi city, Ruiru, Parklands

Kenyatta University contacts are;

Kenyatta University
P.O. Box 43844-00100
Tel: +254 20 870 Ext 4000/3000

Jomo Kenyatta University Of Agriculture & Technology

Just like Kenyatta University, its main campus is located along Thika Super Highway. It renowned in the field of engineering, agriculture and biotechnology and IT.

JKUAT campes are; Karen, Nairobi, Arusha Centre, Kisii Centre, Mombasa CBD centre, Nairobi CBD centre, Nakuru centre.

JKUAT Contacts

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology,
Address: P.O. Box 62 000 – 00200 NAIROBI, KENYA,

Telephone: 067-5870001-5

Egerton University

It is the premier university in Agriculture in Kenya. It is located in Njoro along Njoro-Mau Narok road. Egerton University has two campus; Nakuru and Kenyatta.

How to contact Egerton University

P.o Box 536 – 20115,
Egerton-Njoro, KENYA

General Inquiry:

Maseno University

Maseno University as a public university was founded in 1991. It is located in Maseno town along the Kisumu-Busia road. Its courses are all integrated with IT training.

Maseno University Contacts are:

Maseno University

Private Bag, Maseno, Kenya

Tel: +254 – 57 – 351620/22

The above are the traditional public universities in Kenya. Other public universities are:

Name of UniversityMain CampusOther campusesContact
Chuka UniversityChukaEmbu
Box 109-60400
Chuka, Kenya
Tel: 020 231 0512/ 020 231 0518
Karatina UniversityKaratinaP.O. BOX 1957—10101, Karatina, Kenya.
Tel: (+254) 20 2176 713
Mob: (+254)729 721 200
South Eastern Kenya UniversityKwa Vonza, KituiKitui
Mtito Andei
P.O. Box 170-90200
Tel:+254 748 60 59 96/7
Kirinyaga UniversityKutusP.O. Box: 143-10300 Kerugoya.
Mobile: +254 0709 742000,
+254 728499650
Dedan Kimathi University of TechnologyAlong Nyeri-Mweiga roadNairobi Dedan Kimathi University
Private bag, Dedan Kimathi
Co-operative University of KenyaKaren, NairobiNairobi CBD P.O Box 24814-00502
Phone number:
0724311606,+254 (0)20 2430127,020 2679456
Kisii UniversityKisiiNairobi
P.O. Box 408 – 40200,
Laikipia UniversityNyahururuNakuruLaikipia University
P.O. Box 1100 – 20300
Nyahururu, Kenya
+254 713 552 761
+254-(0) 20 2331509
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University Of Science And TechnologyBondoNambale
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST)
Bondo (Main) Campus
P.O. Box 210 – 40601 Bondo – Kenya.
Orange Wireless: 057-2501804
Fax: 057 2523851
Garissa UniversityGarissa1801-70100, Garissa

Koitaleel Samoei University College
Kibabii University
Maasai Mara University
Machakos University
Masinde Muliro University Of Science And TechnologyBungoma
P. O. BOX 190-50100, Kakamega
+254 (0) 702597360/1, 
                    057 2505222/3 
Meru University Of Science And Technology
Multimedia University Of KenyaRongaiP.O BOX 15653- 00503 Nairobi, Kenya
Murang’a University of TechnologyMurangaP.O Box 75-10200
Muranga, Kenya                                                                         +254-771-370-824 
Pwani UniversityP.O Box 195-80108Kilifi County , Kenya.
Phone:+254 725 91 61 45/ +254 776 36 89 46
Rongo UniversityLocated on Kitere Hill, 8 kilometers from Rongo Town, and 2.5 kilometres off Kisii – Migori Highway.0773296379, 0770308256 /
Technical University Of Mombasa
Taita Taveta UniversityP.O. Box 635 – 8300
Mariweni Voi – Kenya
University Of Eldoret P. O. Box 1125-30100 Eldoret, Kenya.
Technical University Of KenyaHaile Selassie Avenue, Nairobi, KenyaP.O. Box 52428 – 00200, Haile Selassie Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
University of KabiangaKericho
University of EmbuEmbuP. O. Box 6 – 60100, Embu, Kenya
Tel: + 254-20 2444136,
OR + 254 727 933950, +254 788 199505

Also read: Private Universities And Constituent Colleges In Kenya

List of Public University Constituent Colleges

Alupe University College

Kaimosi Friends University College

Tom Mboya University College 

Turkana University College 

Bomet University College 

Tharaka University College